Home » Union Scholarship

Union Scholarship

Academic YSU-OEA Union Heritage Scholarship

YSU-OEA seeks applicants for the annual Academic Union Heritage Scholarship. The award supports students who have a personal or family connection to the labor movement and are pursuing their educational goals at YSU. The $1000 scholarship aids in defraying academic expenses such as tuition, fees or books of the winner.

Eligibility: Awarded to current YSU students who have

  • completed a minimum of 31 semester hours
  • a GPA of 2.75 or higher if applying as a Sophomore (at least 31 s.h.); 3.00 or higher if applying as a Junior (at least 62 s.h.); 3.25 or higher if applying as a Senior (at least 93 s.h.); 3.5 or higher if applying as a graduate student.
  • affiliation with organized labor; past or current union membership by applicant (2+ years) or members of applicant’s family (5+ years).
  • financial need; FAFSA must be completed.
YSU Foundation Scholarship:  No
Scholarship Amount: $1,000
Awards Available:   1
Deadline Date:   March 1
Renewable:   Yes, through reapplication
Contact Information:   Office of Financial Aid and Scholarships, 330-941-3505

Print Application

Past scholarship recipients:
2020-2021: First Place – Aleishka Rodriguez
Runners-Up (receiving $500 each): Truman Littler, Avery Jones, Madeline Woodward, Maddie Stears
2019-2020: Brianna McGuire
2018-2019: Brianna McGuire
2017-2018: Jennifer Vittek and Sarah Hammett
2015-2016: Delores Womack
2014 – 2015: Megan Healy
2013 – 2014: Erinn Coe
2012 – 2013: Hailey Sturtz
2011 – 2012: Julianne Dundee
2009 – 2010: Michael Morrell